RSS

The Deserted Fort (Poetry Challenge)

03 Dec

This was written off the top of my head, and I haven’t reviewed this piece yet. It was part of a challenge to write a poetry about a rural setting. My constraints were that it was “dusk”, “a deserted country road” and “suddenly goats”. This was to be a quick exercise, not to think but just write. I usually before to review and change my work a fair bit before posting, but thought I would show my first write on here this time. Perhaps if I come back to it, I will repost it with edits etc. Enjoy!

The tree’s shadows grow
as the darkness creeps,
yet I can no abandon
this fortress I have built.

Beside the dusty road,
long neglected by cars
too busy to venture
this far to nowhere.

My fort constructed
to fight a marching army
hidden in the fields of
barley, wheat and lost tractors.

Tree trunks dance
between shadows beside the road,
deserted except for the last rays
casting the spotlight on the scene.

Safe in my fortress
I observe the show.
twisted branches, knots entwined
leafy skeletons providing shelter.

From home I hear a rise,
lights fight the dusk
but fail to win, and
the dust chases behind.

Hidden in my fortress,
No adults can find,
None can touch
a sanctuary from loneliness.

In a flash the car will pass,
part of the surrounds
I will be hidden from view
suddenly our goats trot on the road.

The deserted road at dusk
lights ablaze and goats frozen
metal groans, swerving off
the road, scraping the trees.

My cubby of sticks and leaves,
I witness all before me:
Even my mum’s eyes wide
just before I said goodbye.

(As I wrote it I noticed some gaps and some poor word usage, so probably will edit it and post again soon).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Monday 3rd December, 2012 in Challenge, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
