RSS

Forgotten Fence

10 Nov

This poem is a true event that occurred one morning when I was riding my mountain bike through the bush on the way to work.  I have provided some hyperlinks along the way to help with some of the Aussie fauna. Enjoy!

Tyres grate the tiresome damp sand
The morning chill lost as planned
With cockatoos patrolling the skies
And surveyed by kangaroo eyes

I approach the forgotten fence,
Wires dance to a false pretense
With a chorus of twenty-eights
Yet leaves idle, the wind awaits

So curiously I follow the fence line
Unsure of the origin of a dance divine
Seeking the cause, with no song
What I found did not belong

Entangled in wires, a wild sense
Snared by a forgotten fence.
Legs trapped and lamed,
No hand should have tamed

A baby roo separated, from
Family and natures strum.
I approach but only fuel,
So a gentle hand to cool

Comfort the lost child as I
Unwind legs, blood run dry.
Freed from a forgotten fence
It falls, the pain too intense

A warm embrace, as if my child
Within arms kicking wild.
Transgress sodden spears of grass,
Sanctuary lies over the creek pass

Shoes drowned and breath crisp,
Death lies latent in the wisp.
A fatal strike only their defense
Hidden near the forgotten fence

Fate warns me of danger afoot
Peering through, dark as soot,
A tigerish snake lie in my stride
With a strike I could have died

My saviour the frigid morn’
Or rewards for a deed borne
A delivery from a forgotten fence
To crown the series of events

The bush silent, gazes upon us
A wide berth I permit, no fuss.
I walk past death, serenely coiled,
Thankful my pants aren’t soiled

Past the serpentine suspense
I leave the forgotten fence.
The creek runs across my path
I slip in, darn kooka’s laugh

Safely on the other side
No grass for tigers to hide
The emus stare at our plight
A road lies now within sight

Farewell the forgotten fence,
I remember from whence.
In safe arms the roo I place
Then off to work I must race.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on Saturday 10th November, 2012 in Australiana, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Forgotten Fence

  1. bubblytee

    Saturday 10th November, 2012 at 11:59 am

    aww, what an endearing story. I loved the soiled trousers line. lol :)…and all those images are awesome. too.

    Wow, this musta taken you a long while to write. Good job! 🙂

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Saturday 10th November, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      Yeah thought some humour wouldn’t hurt. Thanks for reading and commenting.

       
  2. bubblytee

    Saturday 10th November, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    p.s. is that your baby picture for an avatar?

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Saturday 10th November, 2012 at 8:08 pm

      It was taken when I was 6 months old … I look a “little” different now 🙂

       
  3. bubblytee

    Saturday 10th November, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    you were a cute baby 🙂

     
  4. brudberg

    Saturday 10th November, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    Wonderful just wonderful. An adventure on the way to work.

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Saturday 10th November, 2012 at 8:15 pm

      Yeah, was a good excuse for being late that day. Thanks for reading and commenting.

       
  5. Tovah

    Tuesday 13th November, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    Awesome!

     
  6. sanora1

    Wednesday 14th November, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Great poem. Never heard of tiger snakes. Looks kind of nasty though. You were lucky.

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Wednesday 14th November, 2012 at 9:47 am

      Yeah tiger snakes are quite common around where I live, and aggressive too (well usually). When out camping you need to keep your eyes out for them, they especially love the slightly wet areas (including coiling up inside toilets … hence why you have to keep the seats down when camping). Thanks for reading and commenting.

       
  7. wolfsrosebud

    Thursday 15th November, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    nice story you’ve wove for us… kudos’s on riding your bike to work… and i was surprised in the end

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Friday 16th November, 2012 at 10:43 am

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I still ride to my new work, however now my ride is along the beach instead of through the bush. Almost hit a roo on the way home yesterday on my bike … think I would have come off second best!

       

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
