RSS

As One?

24 Sep

Actual photo of my wife and I on our wedding day.

We falter at footsteps in the sand
Behind us none remain, washed away.
Tides come and go, forgetting the past
So we stand, forlorn; staring at the horizon
Distant sails capture a breeze we don’t feel

We can’t follow those left behind by others
Grains of sand mould to the path chosen
No lines drawn; we must decide their direction.
Will imprints leave a trail of union,
Or will each step be further apart.

We have to move forward, nothing behind us,
So as we stare at one another: eyes and hearts.
A thought of times ahead; too few steps together
Or a dance of prints entangled in each others arms.
Cast aside the waves of doubt, take a step.

Our next step:
Is together
Is new ground
Is as one.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on Monday 24th September, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “As One?

  1. Francina

    Thursday 27th September, 2012 at 1:04 am

    very beautiful poem.

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Thursday 27th September, 2012 at 9:24 am

      Thanks for the comment. The line “as one” kept repeating in my mind, and I kept writing it down but nothing progressed from there. I actually had an argument with my wife and we reached a crossroad in our marriage. Then it hit me, what a great way to use the line “as one” because that is what I want for us.

       
  2. forgingpaths

    Monday 1st October, 2012 at 6:42 am

    So good. I read it over and again. It is just right.

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Tuesday 2nd October, 2012 at 3:32 pm

      Thanks for the comment and your name was very appropriate for the poem 😛 Thanks.

       
  3. Lisa Marie

    Tuesday 23rd October, 2012 at 11:29 am

    Very sweet and I love the picture… very creative!

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Tuesday 23rd October, 2012 at 11:42 am

      Thanks for the comment. Yeah we definitely had some (shall we say) unique wedding photos taken of the bridal party.

       
  4. daydreamdaisies

    Sunday 18th November, 2012 at 6:26 am

    You can feel the happiness, the chemistry, the security you find in each other. This is love, most definately! I love it, it is very beautiful reminder of the precious bonds that exist in this world. It makes me feel more together, if you know what I mean.
    Beautiful!
    And thank you for visiting my blog too and leaving such deep, insightful comments. I appreciate that you took so much time to read my writing!

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Tuesday 20th November, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Lovely comment too.

       

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
