RSS

The Postman

14 Sep

I originally penned the elements to this poem in July 2008.  I recently (today) rediscovered this lost poem.  Being one of my earlier poems I decided that it required some work before I posted it on here.  So after a rewrite but keeping the same themes and tone of the original I present this poem.  It was written for my wife (fiance at the time) and we were having the usual relationship struggles. Enjoy!

 

Your mail I lost in transit, before we’d met
As dreams you had stalled, without a word.
I didn’t return to sender; my mistake.

Love notes exchanged trying to right wrongs
So hard I try but the damage done;
Each day the feeble letter’s edges fray.

I should have delivered you flowers,
Not baggage and a broken man,
And then I shipped your dreams off shore.

An apology note is my only delivery today,
A personal plea. A reply do I deserve?
I regret, so little I can deliver to you.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on Friday 14th September, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “The Postman

  1. intellectualvoice

    Wednesday 26th September, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    beautiful 🙂

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Thursday 27th September, 2012 at 9:39 am

      Thanks. I am glad that the words close to my heart come out better than the “arguments” my wife and I have 😛

       
  2. bubblytee

    Wednesday 26th September, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    This is sooo touching! Truly warmed my heart.

    Never give up on making up lost opportunities… and esp on sending flowers. Where there’s a will a way is found….

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Thursday 27th September, 2012 at 9:27 am

      Thanks for the reassurance and positive message. Our relationship really has strengthened since this point … I try to buy flowers regularly, but been a little distracted of late. We’ve also started decorating our vases with Halloween themes, so they might have to wait for a while 😛

       

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
