RSS

Freya’s Flower

11 Aug

I wrote this poem for my wife. Since having our children she continually puts herself down because she put on some weight (and hasn’t lost it since). However, this doesn’t affect my feelings for her and I wanted to let her know this (because no matter how many times I reassure her she doesn’t believe me). The Freya reference is because she was the Norse goddess of love and procreation, and at the time my wife was reading a book that had Norse mythology within it too.

Each day I see you bemoan,
Willing sacrifices made; scars sown.
The remains weigh heavy on your esteem,
Far from your flawless dream.

I see beyond the surface drawn fine,
With each stretch our family grew, divine.
The matriarch’s beauty flowered strong
Beside your delicate features, do I belong

Love is not blind; in my vision is your spectre,
You are beautiful. As petals frame nectar
Your curves sketch a portrait I adore.
No body else I want but yours

 
15 Comments

Posted by on Saturday 11th August, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Freya’s Flower

  1. clawfish

    Saturday 11th August, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    So deeply felt

     
  2. withheldindarkness

    Monday 13th August, 2012 at 10:48 am

    Thanks for the comment. I guess it is easiest to find inspiration from those that you feel deeply about 🙂

     
  3. forgingpaths

    Friday 17th August, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    so kind and love-filled. my husband loved this too

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Friday 17th August, 2012 at 1:40 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I wrote it on some card paper for her (with some decorations). She keeps in within her e-book case now. Thanks.

       
  4. nephiriel

    Tuesday 21st August, 2012 at 5:57 am

    i keep coming back here… this one is so wonderful. thank you for sharing it…

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Tuesday 21st August, 2012 at 8:52 am

      Thanks for the comment. I am hoping to write another similar poem soon for my wife. So will share again, after she has had it all for herself for a while. 🙂

       
  5. wolfnwings

    Tuesday 11th September, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    That’s very sweet. “The matriarch’s beauty flowered strong.” So wonderful you focused on that.

    Thanks for liking my post as well.

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Tuesday 11th September, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      No worries, if you write something I like I ensure I comment. Thanks for your comment.

       
  6. bubblytee

    Thursday 27th September, 2012 at 3:31 am

    Aww, she is the goddess of fertility and that you can appreciate her sacrifices makes you a princely man yourself .

    We women are too hard on ourselves, not knowing that our softness and warmth is all that matters to our beloveds.

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Thursday 27th September, 2012 at 9:15 am

      I find it a struggle everyday to convince her that I love her, no matter her outer appearance (which I still think is beautiful nonetheless). But I guess as with many women she struggles with her self-image, especially since the birth of our two children. Thanks for the comment.

       
      • bubblytee

        Thursday 27th September, 2012 at 9:26 am

        If you have to struggle to convince her, then you might need to change strategy. Some of us dont feel loved because we dont heaer/see it with the same efforts — A new and special effort must be made…but I cant tell you what will work with her.

        Usually most of us can see tender love in the eyes, but some require more and unique touches, words, displays, shared experiences.

        I personally dont buy words or affection unless they are accompanied by genuine and sincere eye revelations…and with deeds that accompany the depth of commitment to our me/our relationship….and dont misunderstand…then words and affection carry great weight with me….

        There is a book written called the Five Love Languages …that would explain it better.

         
  7. bubblytee

    Thursday 27th September, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    p.s. I should add that we, like all humans, love compliments…but usually they are given in general terms …which is wonderful…but it is also good to learn specifically what IS particularly special about us.

    wishing you a wonderful day ~
    🙂

     
  8. yasniger

    Friday 19th October, 2012 at 6:08 am

    Says a lot to me. Warms the heart.
    And thanks for showing interest in what I put out too. I sincerely hope you continue to find my works entertaining & pleasurable.Be safe

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Friday 19th October, 2012 at 7:46 am

      Thanks for the comments. I find your writing always a pleasure to read and look forward to you furthe works. Thanks for reading.

       
      • yasniger

        Saturday 20th October, 2012 at 4:42 am

        Thank you too for commenting. I was a delight reading your poem. Thanks for sharing it.

         

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
