RSS

Reflections

27 Jul

This poem was writing for a challenge on The Poet Sanctuary where I had to write an acrostic poem (with a twist). An acrostic poem is where the first letter of each line spells out the title of the poem (however in the challenge the last letter of each line had to spell out the title of the poem). Furthermore the poem title had to include one these words: reflect, mirror, window or glass (or a slight variation from that). So here is my poem (I have aligned it to the right hand side so that you can see the acrostic title.

Before me stares a mirror,
A disinterested reflection of me.
Doubt’s tendrils creep on my self belief.

The years passed, arguments prevail.
Love only dulled the mirror’s edge
With each fight subtly caustic.

Tears occupy every sleepless night,
And dreams descend to a pitiful alibi.
The mirror’s gleam fails you too.

I fear the mirror bears not her reflection.
Before me alone the mirror stares.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Friday 27th July, 2012 in Challenge, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
