RSS

A Lullaby

26 Jul

My daughter (almost 4) sometimes “fights” going to bed, and when her older sister isn’t at home (they share a bunk) she tends to “sneak” into our bed during the middle of the night. So I thought it might be nice if I came up with a lullaby for her, and my other children. To help them get to sleep, and hopefully see them see the night through.

I will try it out tonight and see how it goes … and will try it on my older daughter (8 years old) tomorrow night when she arrives too. I’ll keep you posted on the reviews of my most critical commentators!

Quiet, quiet, listen do you hear the melody?
Hush, hush, dreams wash in like the sea
Dancing through the air, tired from the day
Close your eyes, it’s where they play

Quiet, quiet, sleep washes over you
Hush, hush, as dreams come into view
Carry you away to a land divine
Where all your dreams will shine

Quiet, quiet, time to sleep so sound
Hush, hush, for our love is profound
Sweet dreams to keep you safe in bed
Goodnight, till tomorrow. What lies ahead …

Hush, hush, hush my loves hush, hush, hush

 
3 Comments

Posted by on Thursday 26th July, 2012 in Lyrics

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “A Lullaby

  1. withheldindarkness

    Thursday 26th July, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    really like it Pete 🙂 I am sure the kids will feel pretty special have a special poem by their Daddy

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Thursday 26th July, 2012 at 12:50 pm

      that last comment was from my wife (she obviously is logged into my account still) hehe. Thanks bootiful

       
  2. withheldindarkness

    Tuesday 31st July, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    The kids have been loving the lullaby. They have asked for it each night since I first sang it to them (even with my terrible singing).

     

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
