RSS

Unleash the Dragon

18 Apr

Wrote this for a members challenge on The Poet Sanctuary. The poem had to be about a fantasy being a dragon, and include the line “And if I were a Dragon, burning old bridges with the fire that I breathe”. I was rewarded an honourable mention.

I stand on the edge, looking down
The soaring winds pass seductively
Pulling me towards a fall.
Teasingly the ground beneath,
Clasps my feet with serpent claws.

The Dragon devours me, I change
On my island refuge I unleash.
Wings spread for my absolution;
No one dare challenge me now.
As Dragon I fear none

Stones cast from afar fall short
My hide is thick, Dragon mocks their attempts.
But now past taunts sown
Smoulder within Dragon’s heart.
Torn wings, I have fallen

I stand on the edge, looking down
They trespass on my sanctuary,
And if I were a Dragon, burning old bridges
With the fire that I breathe
I could finally be free!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on Wednesday 18th April, 2012 in Challenge, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Unleash the Dragon

  1. atoasttodragons

    Wednesday 18th April, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Cool poem. Gotta love dragons.

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Saturday 21st April, 2012 at 6:45 pm

      Yeah their majesty, power and mystery … trying to come up with some more fantasy poems soon (including more dragon ones). Keep an eye out.

       

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
