RSS

Senses

10 Apr

Written for my wife. I cut each stanza out and presented it to her as five individual small poems that then could be read together to make a full poem. Enjoy!

i.                     Touch

Each day, I turn a new leaf over
In my diary, the pages lighten
A heaviness, lifted with your approach.

ii.                   Sight

As you draw near, I hold
My breath, fluttering like butterfly wings
A natural wonder, painted before me.

iii.                  Taste

A piquant kiss, stolen from afar
Sweetened dew drops resting
On lips divine, I am enticed

iv.                 Hearing

I will whisper, all of sweet nothing
In your absence, I await the blossom
Of you each morn, with bated breath I yearn.

v.                   Smell

An aromatic warmth, lingering
Scents of you, adorn my senses
With love, I inhale to breathe for you.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on Tuesday 10th April, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Senses

  1. Tia

    Tuesday 7th August, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Ooooo, make a chorus and this would be a beautiful accoustic guitar solo song :). Your wife would love to be serenaded, have someone teach you, you could do it!

     
    • withheldindarkness

      Tuesday 7th August, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      Thanks, I might just do as you say … although my voice is terrible 😛

       
  2. Tia

    Wednesday 8th August, 2012 at 9:14 am

    only you think your voice is horrible, look at some of the singers in history, and some of the songs I hear my son listening to, well, I think I’ve heard those sounds coming from caves after the winter thaw and spring has arrived….lol. Take a look at Leonard Cohen. He didn’t sing his songs.

     

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
