RSS

Black Petals

02 Apr

This started out as a poem about discrimination/racism … however now it has evolved into something different, and probably is leaning more towards a “song” than a poem …

Cursed by a hand, withheld in Darkness
The Light extinguished for me
My curse courses thickly in my blood
You look at me with blind eyes
Darkness engulfs any vision of me

I want to emerge from obscurity
Fear holds me captive
Hands hold me back, safely darkened
My petals wilt to black
In eternal Darkness I can not grow

My Shepherd has abandoned my path
Rely on my own to navigate blindly
Every fall, I stand a little taller
Each Jerk, I feel a little less
Slowly shades of grey strike before I

Dreams in infrared, glowing
Brimming with Light I will shine
Darkness burns as It passes
Petals blossom, I bloom for all
The sunshine baths me in luminous auras

Cursed by a hand, withheld in Darkness
In eternal Darkness I could not grow
Every fall, I stood a little taller
Petals blossom, I bloom for all
… withheld in Darkness, I stand now before you

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Monday 2nd April, 2012 in Lyrics, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Don't be shy, write a lil' somethin' somethin' ... I won't bite (today)!

 
